NLN Center of Excellence

International Honor Society

Be recognized for your outstanding achievements.

You should be rewarded for your academic successes, and you can join the College of Nursing and Public Health’s Alpha Omega Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International, the honor society in nursing. 

The organization:

  • Recognizes the achievement of scholarship and superior quality
  • Recognizes the development of leadership qualities
  • Fosters high professional standards
  • Encourages creative work
  • Strengthens commitment on the part of individuals to the ideals and purposes of the profession of nursing

Seniors who have achieved a 3.5 GPA on the undergraduate level may be considered for membership. Graduate students who have achieved a 3.5 GPA at the graduate level and who have successfully completed one-quarter of the graduate program may be considered for membership.

Membership Applications

Membership applications are considered annually between November and January. Undergraduate and graduate students must have a 3.5 GPA to be considered for membership. 

» Undergraduate forms for Sigma Theta Tau (PDF)
» Graduate forms for Sigma Theta Tau (PDF)


» Sigma Theta Tau Scholarship criteria and application (PDF)
» Bernard and Marilyn Klainberg Annual Scholarship Award criteria and application (PDF)

stt-nursing-induction-2016Research Grants

Sigma Research Grants can be awarded to chapter members.

» Alpha Omega Chapter STTI Research Award instructions and application (PDF)

Chapter Leadership 2016-2018

Alpha Omega Chapter Board—Members 2016–2018 

Chelsea Wollman

Betty May

Vice President
Tracy MacQueen

Recording Secretary
Marie Cox

Corresponding Secretary
Maureen Roller

President Elect
Sarah Marshall

Faculty Adviser
Janet Raman

Non-Faculty Adviser
Elaine Smith

Delegate I
Jessy Augustine

Delegate II
Madeline Richez

Past Presidents/Consultants

Deborah Ambrosio-Mahwirter

Jessy Augustine

Carmelle Bellefleur   

Patricia Facquet

Marilyn Klainberg

Janet Raman

Scholarship Committee 

Deborah Ambrosio-Mahwirter (chair)

Charles Cal

Kathleen Dooney

Elaine Lyons

Research Committee 

Maureen Roller (chair) 

Deborah Ambrosio-Mahwirter

Carmelle Bellefleur

Andrea McCrink

Leadership Succession Committee

Beth Heydemann (co-chair)

Karen Mancini (co-chair)

JoAnn Victor-Fassman

Governance Committee/Bylaws 

Fran Hilliard (chair)

Patricia Facquet

Marilyn Klainberg

Maureen Roller

Tracy MacQueen

Kathleen Rickard (alternate)

Founders’ Day Committee 
Chelsea Wollman (chair)  
Membership Meeting Committee

Maureen Roller (chair)

Patricia Facquet

Beth Heydemann (co-chair of nominating committee)

Karen Mancini (co-chair of nominating committee)

Elaine Smith (non-faculty adviser)

Induction Committee 

Patricia Facquet (chair)

Beth Heydemann

Fran Hilliard

Karen Mancini

Maureen Roller

Alpha Omega Awards Committee 

Patricia Facquet (chair)

Jessy Augustine

Beth Heydemann

Fran Hilliard

Karen Mancini

Fundraising Committee 

Kathleen Rickard (chair)

Volunteerism Committee 

Tracy MacQueen (chair)

Jessy Augustine

Kathleen Rickard

Newsletter Committee 
Deborah Ambrosio-Mahwirter Kathleen Rickard
Follow Adelphi Nursing and Public Health at:  

For further information, please contact:

College of Nursing and Public Health
Nexus Building, 3rd Floor
p – 516.877.4510